Blynk allows you to share devices with other users - from a few to thousands and offers a simple and flexible way to set up and manage multi-tenant IoT applications at any scale. Users can be grouped in organizations. Every member of an organization has a role and is of certain type. Roles control how users access the data according to a set of permissions.
When a user subscribes to a Blynk plan, they become by default a user of type Developer, assigned the role of Admin to the root organization. The number of additional users varies by plan, and so does the ability to revise the set of permissions for each role.
Free and Plus plans have a locked set of permissions for each role, meaning the default permissions by role cannot be changed. PRO and Business plans have permissions that may be edited by role.
Blynk takes care of all key use cases required for user management: inviting users, account registration, password changes, assigning roles and devices, managing permissions, account deletion.
There are multiple ways of adding users to Blynk and they differ by plan.
It is possible for all plans to invite a user to your organization and assign them a selected role either from Blynk.Console or Blynk.App (Main Menu -> Organization settings -> Members -> Invite new member icon in the top right corner).
it is only possible to invite users if they don't have a Blynk account associated with this email. In other cases they should either delete their account before being invited or use some other email.
PRO, Plus, Free plans: In order to give other users access to your devices, you will need to first invite each user to your organization (or to a sub-organization under yours if you are on PRO). The user will get an invitation sent to their email address and, will be asked to create a password for their Blynk account and then will be able to activate their device with Blynk. Here you can find more information about how to deploy your WiFi and non-WiFi products to customers using Blynk PRO.
Business plan: This plan eliminates the need to invite each user via email and allows self-registration. The user can simply purchase your device, follow the instructions to create an account in your Blynk-powered app / web portal and activate their device. Blynk is working on making it possible for PRO clients as well with an add-on.
If your clients activate their devices themselves with WiFi provisioning or a Static token, the device is assigned to the user automatically.
If you are not using provisioning and already have both the user and the device in your account you can transfer device ownership to that user for them to be able to view and control it.
It is possible for any user to reset their password in their User profile either in Blynk.Console or in Blynk.App. Organization admin can also reset password for any user within their organization.
Users of this type have access to all the functionality required to configure the platform for use by end-users (also called Clients). This is usually someone who builds the hardware, develops the firmware, and does all the needed configurations. By default, the first user in Organization becomes a Developer and is assigned the role of Admin.
Currently, only one developer is allowed per Organization to avoid sync issues. This limit might be changed later.
If you want some other user to be a developer in your organization you should first switch off the dev mode in your account either in Blynk.Console or Blynk.App. After that the other user can switch it on.
These users can add devices and use the platform's functionality based on their role and set of permissions, but they can't edit any configurations made by the Developer.
Available in Enterprise version only. These are the members of Partners organization with an additional set of functionality to create and manage clients. Partners could be:
As partners functionality is only available in the Business plans the exact set of permissions for these additional user types can be configured according to the client’s needs.
Each user has a role in the organization. By default there are three main roles.
- Admin – is intended to have the highest level of permissions
- Staff – we recommend to set up and use this role for internal company functions and client support
- Users – is intended to have the most limited set of permissions, mostly focused on managing their own devices
Each role has a set of permissions. With Free and Plus plans you can change permissions for a specific user by changing their role. PRO and Business plans allow editing permissions by role. Read more about it here.
To simplify access management to devices PRO and Business plan users can group their clients and devices into multi-level organizations.